Reset a Lesson for a Student

It happens: sometimes a student makes a mistake in an activity or lesson and needs to start over. In Xello, you can reset a lesson and delete all of the student's progress to give the student a fresh start.

Note: The Reset Lesson option is available only for Xello-made lessons.

To reset a lesson:

  1. From your Educator Account, click Students and select Student List to open the list of all students at your school.
    Tip: Search for the student by using the search bar located at the top of any page in your Educator Account.
  2. Click on the student name to open their profile page.
  3. From the top of the profile, click the Lesson Progress tab to view their progress on all lessons in their grade.
  4. Locate the lesson you want to reset and click on the title.
    • This opens the summary page of the lesson, to see more about the Lesson, click View Details.
  5. Click the link Reset Lesson.
  6. To confirm you want to reset and delete any progress the student has made in the lesson, click Yes, Reset.
Warning: Resetting a student's lesson cannot be undone. Once you confirm the reset, the student will need to redo the Lesson from the beginning.


When students access the lesson after it's been reset, they'll see a notification on the introduction page that states which educator reset the lesson and when. This notification will remain there until they've restarted it.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us