Deactivate a Parent/Guardian Account

userEducator & Xello Admin Xello productAccounts 2 minutes

You can deactivate or unlink a family account if the parent/guardian should no longer have access to the student's work in Xello. If there are multiple students linked to one parent/guardian, each student will need to be unlinked to deactivate the account.

This does not delete the parent/guardian account, but does keep the parent/guardian from viewing the student's work. Their accounts can be linked again later if necessary.

noteNote: Only those with administrator or user level access can create or make these changes. To learn more about educator access and permissions, read the article on Educator Permissions.

To deactivate or unlink a parent/guardian account from a student:

  1. From your Educator Account, click Families to open the list of Parents and Guardians.
    Educator Account with Families menu highlighted
    Click to enlarge
    Educator Account with Families menu highlighted
  2. Locate the student's parent/guardian.
  3. Next to their name, click the three dot icon and select Unlink from Student.
    Click to enlarge
  4. Confirm you want to deactivate this parent/guardian from the student and click Unlink.
    • The parent/guardian will no longer be visible on the Parents and Guardians list.
    • If a parent/guardian tries to access their unlinked account, they'll be prompted to contact the school to reactivate it.

Unlink Multiple Students

If a parent/guardian has multiple students linked to their account, each student will need to be unlinked to deactivate the parent/guardian account.

To unlink multiple students from one parent/guardian:

  1. From your Educator Account, click Families to open the list of Parents and Guardians.
    Educator Account with Families menu highlighted
    Click to enlarge
    Educator Account with Families menu highlighted
  2. Locate the student's parent/guardian and click their name.
  3. In the Children section, next to each student, click the three dot icon and select Unlink.